Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
 
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  
 
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Important Rule Clarification (Read 1990 times)
BJ Recorder
YaBB Moderator
*****
Offline



Posts: 106
Important Rule Clarification
Dec 15th, 2016 at 9:07am
 
I have sort clarification of the rules where a fish is tagged and then continued to be fought with  the intention of possibly capturing it and claiming the capture rather than the T&R points.
The response from NWGFA follows...

NSWGFA has a specific rule regarding this issue. Refer page 6 NSWGFA By-Laws & Regulations July 2013 (h) 8.

The wording is below in
red
.

A fish is considered tagged and released when the tag is secured to the fish and the fish is released back into the water alive.

Therefore the answer to the question is quite simple.

A Tag & Release cannot be claimed until the fish is tagged and is then released back into the water alive.

The word released means, “ release, free, dismiss, discharge, liberate all mean to let loose or let go. Release and free both suggest a helpful action”.

By continuing to fight a fish after it has been tagged and not
purposely
released, and then subsequently lost, then the Tag & release cannot be claimed because the fish has won and has not been released by the action of the crew in removing the hook or cutting the line.

If the fish is subsequently brought to the boat and the skipper and angler decide to take the fish then that is within the rule and capture points can be claimed. It is also expected that the tag that was put in the fish in the first place be removed so it can be used again so no tag wastage occurs.

Hope this clarifies the question and I am OK with this response being sent to any person or club if that is the desire of NSWGFA & GFAA.

Grahame A Williams, OAM
Treasurer & Records Officer, NSWGFA Inc.
GFAA Inc. Executive Officer (NSW)
Back to top
 
 
IP Logged
 
Nautorious
Senior Member
****
Offline


Another Game Fisherman

Posts: 370
shellharbour
Gender: male
Re: Important Rule Clarification
Reply #1 - Dec 15th, 2016 at 3:50pm
 
I do find it surprising that this has been brought up now and not 10 years ago when I joined the club, not having a go at anyone but it is a issue I will be watching to see the out come  Wink whatever the ruling so be it as from what I've read I know we're this is going
Back to top
 
 
IP Logged
 
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print